Le Louvre…

Standard

We went. We saw.  We conquered 2/3 of it. 

Let me tell you that Le Louvre is MASSIVE and we could only handle about 4 hours of 17th, 18th, and 19th century “Grandma Art”.  Don’t get me wrong, I took many years of art lessons from Mrs. Ironside, so I can appreciate the detail, time and talent involved in each and every one of those paintings.  I also got a D (which was a small miracle to be honest)  in my college pottery class, so I can REALLY respect those sculptures.  I never really carved anything out of marble or granite, but I can imagine that is a task.  BUT, that doesn’t change the fact that it just wasn’t my style.  I don’t understand why everyone was naked all of the time, no one smiled,  everyone loved everyone (kinda like 1960’s hippies).  Oh, and just because they make it larger than life, doesn’t make it better.  Bigger is not always better.  Most of the time…but not always.

One of many rooms of art--it was exhausting!

Giant bird bath (I don't think that was the official name for it).

This was just one courtyard in the middle...notice: very huge.

Probably my favorite. We will call it "Going to Heaven with a halo"

Where's Julie? I have never felt so tiny...I considered bringing it home with me.

Daniel's favorite: "The Winged Victory of Samothrace"

The Dying Slave by Michelangelo (notice: nudity)

St. Mary Magdalene (notice: more nudity.)

"Venus de Milo" aka: Aphrodite (and, again, naked.)

Napoleon's old digs...not too shabby!

The line to meet Mona Lisa

Kickin' it with Mona.

Now, this is about the point that I took over camera duty.  Notice a different style? 

KAAAAWWWW!

Profiles.

"Psyche and Cupid" by Casanova (obviously needed to show the love)!

A camel for my Dad (I know how much you love them)!

This is wrong on so many levels: 1) they are sisters and 2)...well...you see. "Gabrielle d'Estrees and her Sister"

The single, solitary piece of artwork that I would display in my home.

Bon Appetit!

2 responses »

  1. I love your post. I felt the same way about the Louvre. Stood in line for a sweet forever to see Mona. I expected it to be huge, but that’s the one thing that was small. I think I yawned most of the time we were there. Saw absolutely nothing to be excited about — look up cultured in the dictionary and there won’t be a picture of me!

Leave a Reply

