Dachau Concentration Camp…

Standard

I guess we thought it would be a good idea to have a sobering experience at the tail end of Oktoberfest.  It was just that…sobering.  As I have mentioned before the history of WWII and Nazi Germany is fascinating to me, so once I found out there was a concentration camp just outside of Munich, I put it on the “to do” list.  I knew it would not be a fun place to visit, but I was not prepared for just how non-fun it would be.

Once you walk through the iron gates, it immediately brings you to a very quiet place.  We stopped talking.  We stopped smiling.  I think I might have stopped breathing for a minute.  A concentration camp could quite possibly be the eeriest place on earth?

We might have bad days at work, bad days at home, bad hair days, or bad weeks altogether, but none of our “bad” compares to what these human beings went through not-so-long ago.  These pictures don’t begin to do Dachau justice, but they sure do remind me just how lucky I am every day…

I won’t say “bon ap” this time….doesn’t seem appropriate.

The iron gates...

Never Again...let's hope!

Sleeping Quarters

Inside the sleeping quarters...

Something was just creepy about every single building...?

Yes, those are what you think they are 😦

One response »

  1. Went there with Grabbie Carol, Suzan and Leslie. Left the cameras behind, strolled numbly through the camp and read almost everything on display. It was well beyond ‘sobering!’

Leave a Reply

